Finally getting the car keys is a big moment in any teenager’s life. They now have the freedom and independence to go where they wish without having to ask mom or dad for a ride. These new drivers are excited and eager to get out on the road, however they not only pose a great risk to themselves but also to others on the road as well. Since new drivers are such a high risk, their insurance can be high as well. A typical Connecticut auto insurance policy for a new, seventeen- year old male driver with no prior insurance or driving record can run well past $3500.
The State of Connecticut recently enacted new laws regarding teen drivers that differ from previous state standards. In order to ensure that your new driver maintain a solid driving record and begin to lower that high insurance price tag, these are some essential laws that everyone NEEDS to be aware of:
16 and 17- year olds issued driver’s licenses on or after Aug. 1, 2008
- Must complete 40 hours of on-the-road instruction. The parent or legal guardian will also be required to attend two hours of the mandatory eight-hour course on safe driving practices.
- Are prohibited from operating a motor vehicle between 11pm and 5am unless traveling to work, school, or religious activity.
- Are prohibited for the first six months after receiving a license from transporting passengers except a licensed driving instructor or other person giving instruction who has held a license for at least four years, or a parent or legal guardian who holds a valid operator’s license.
- Are prohibited for the second six months after the issuance of a license, from having any passengers with the exception of those listed above or any other members of the operator’s immediate family.
- Will have their license immediately suspended for 48 hours if he or she is in violation of any of the above laws. New drivers will also have their licenses suspended if they are charged with speeding 20 mph or more over the speed limit, reckless driving, racing and operating under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
Even with your new driver following these laws while out on the road, other factors are also considered in lowing insurance rates. Maintaining a high academic standard in school (usually B average), having solid driving experience on the road, and owning ‘insurance friendly’ cars are ways in which to lower a new driver’s auto insurance. All in all, new drivers need to be smart and execute caution while on the road. Eventually, with maturity and experience, drivers will see those rates start to decrease.